Return to Headlines

Lincoln County Schools Superintendent Appointed To AASA Governing Board, Joins Greene And Rockingham Superintendents In National Service

North Carolina Association of School Administrators


Dr. Lory Morrow, Superintendent of Lincoln County Schools, has joined Dr. Patrick Miller, Superintendent of Greene County Schools, in representing North Carolina on the Governing Board for the American Association of School Administrators (AASA). Dr. Morrow, who also is President-Elect of the North Carolina Association of School Administrators (NCASA), was recognized for this appointment Tuesday at her local board of education meeting by Jack Hoke, Executive Director of the North Carolina School Superintendents’ Association (NCSSA), which is one of NCASA’s core affiliates.


Dr. Morrow will represent Region 5, consisting of North Carolina, Virginia, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, and Tennessee on the AASA Board. She will not only advocate for the interests of her region in AASA decision-making, but also will report the work of the Governing Board to superintendents in NC through NCASA and NCSSA.


The Governing Board meets twice per year: first, directly before the start of the AASA National Conference on Education in February, as well as in July in Washington, DC as part of the annual AASA Advocacy Conference.


Dr. Rodney Shotwell of Rockingham County, who has been serving on the AASA Governing Board, was also recently named to serve on AASA’s Executive Committee to complete the term vacated by Dr. Janet Mason of Rutherford County Schools, who left the superintendent’s office to become Town Manager of Forest City, her hometown.


AASA is the national membership organization for school superintendents, and the North Carolina Association of School Administrators (NCASA) is its North Carolina affiliate.